top of page

CR Alum Highlight: Jared Lax


Name: Jared Lax, CR4

Major: Marketing, Writing minor

Graduation Year: 2015

Current Location: Harvard Law School, Cambridge, MA

Jared was an involved member of Student Foundations while at TCU, and dedicated time to other on-campus organizations like Frog Camp and Sigma Phi Epsilon. Post graduation, Jared was accepted to the Fulbright Scholars Program and spent a year as a Fulbright Fellow in Indonesia as an English teacher and a representative of the US Department of State. Jared is currently attending Harvard Law School in Massachusetts.

During the summer of 2012, Jared experienced Cultural Routes 4. He briefly describes what he took from the experience:

"I had never considered the ways that culture, geography, and history intersect to inform a place and the people that live there. This realization has made me incisively consider how my background has shaped me and why I think what I think, I'm more able to pinpoint my influences and biases than before, and I'm more willing and patient in seeking to understand others."

When asked how Cultural Routes shaped Jared's post-grad decisions, he responded:

"I would not have applied for a Fulbright if I had not had the cultural exposure that I did on CR. CR gave me the international exposure that whetted my appetite for travel and cultural exchange, but, equally important, CR gave me the confidence that I could challenge myself with 9 months in Indonesia (and absolutely love it)."


Recent Posts
bottom of page